Home > anime, impressions > Impressions: Hakushaku to Yousei

Impressions: Hakushaku to Yousei

Hakushaku to Yousei is not scheduled to start until October 7, when it will be broadcasted first on Chiba TV and TV Saitama. However, a special episode was released on AT-X to give an overview of the anime.

As I said in my Fall 2008 Anime Preview post, this series is based on light novels about Lydia, a girl who can see and is obsessed about fairies, and how she ends up helping an earl (Edgar) to find an acient legendary sword. While the special opening episode doesn’t give any hints about this or even about Lydia’s and the Earl’s background, there are some promising stuff.

OPENING SONG: “FEELING” by AciD FLavoR

It is definitely a catchy song. The violins right at the intro pulls you into the mood and setting of the anime and the active beat maintains that light-hearted tone of the episode. The visuals aren’t bad either.

EPISODE PLOT: “That Fellow’s a Graceful Scoundrel”

The premise is really intriguing. We see Edgar, or the earl, obviously looking for Lydia Carlton. Lydia, on the other hand, is trying her best not to let her fairy-seeing skills hinder her relationships with the people around her. It’s a good thing she’s the only one who can see Nico, her talking cat. Anyone who sees a cat walking on two legs will definitely be disturbed.

Summary:

Lydia was summoned by her father to come to him and she boards a ship. In the ship, she meets a young man who asked for help because bad people are chasing after him and will kill him if he doesn’t escape. The young man has rope marks on his wrists and hasn’t even shaved for days. Taking pity, Lydia helps him and she ends up running with him and somehow boarding another ship.

This is when Lydia learns that the man she saved is none other than Edgar J. C. Ashenbert, an earl. He gets her dressed in fancy clothes and shows her off to his friends. Lydia is confused about all this treatment, but not for long. The earl reveals that he has been looking for Lydia all along and that he knows about Lydia’s skills as a fairy doctor. She cannot escape, for they are on a ship and she has to help Edgar…on something.

ART/DESIGN: by Artland

I must confess that the character designs reminded me of Bokura ga Ita and I’m not really impressed by it. It’s not bad, it’s pretty good, but when I looked at the promotional picture, I expected more ^^;. But anyway, I got used to it as I watched longer.

There are a lot of scenes where the character is off to the side, showing off a rather not-so-detailed background. I noticed that they do it a lot ^^;. I’m pretty glad that towards the end, they decided to use a lot of perspectives: side view, top view, cat’s view… because if not, the anime would be really boring to watch.

SEIYUU: Midorikawa Hikaru, Mizuki Nana, Yuuki Hiro, Sugita Tomokazu

Midorin never fails me when he performs a role, and I pretty glad that he’s Edgar. The deep, bratty, authoritative voice that Midorin used when in stubborn!Tamahome mode works. The character itself is reminiscent of Ouran Koukou Host Club‘s Tamaki, albeit with a different air, but I do not see the need to use a deeper, richer voice for him. Midorin’s breathy voice is perfect~ <3

I rarely take notice of the female seiyuus unless they’re my favorites, but Mizuki Nana does a good job here, too. At least she is not too noisy :P. Yuuki Hiro as a cat needs to sink in more but so far so good. If we are talking of cat voices, I prefer Inoue Kazuhiko (Natsume Yuujinchou), LOL. Sugita Tomokazu is a surprise. I am used to hearing his deep, oh-so-seme voice in dramas, so I was curious about his role. It turns out he is this guy?

I think this is him. Raven, right? ^^;;. A servant/assistant to the earl, he’s the one who gave Lydia the new clothes. And somehow, I get a different vibe from him and the earl (or that’s just me, because I always tend to sway towards slashy characters in an anime). But then again…

QUIRKS: too shoujofied.

I enjoyed the episode a lot. Despite my disappointed reaction at the character designs at first, I got used to them and eventually liked them. The story for this beginning is engaging and did not bore me much. All in all, I have no major complaints aside from this one:

There are too many sparkles and shoujo bubbles. While I understand that it is a shoujo anime and the guy is dreamy/dazzling, I don’t see the need for “kaching~” sounds everytime Edgar appears or sparkles plus killer smiles everytime he punches someone ^^;. There’s a bit of a dazzle overkill in this episode and I hope it’s remedied in the proper series.

This series is going to have 13 episodes and will follow the storyline in the light novels. I expect a lot from it after watching the first episode. I hope they’ll be able to carry the momentum all throughout the series. I will definitely be following this to the end.

  1. October 1, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    yay something new to look out for.

    pb

  2. Diana
    April 11, 2012 at 10:40 am

    I have a question. What is the symbol used in the opening theme of Earl & Fairy?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

